dining out

James Beard Awards Announces California Semifinalists

The James Beard Foundation has announced its 2022 Restaurant and Chef Awards semifinalists, including California talents who span the state. The semifinalists were announced in advance of the returning James Beard Awards presented by Capital One, with the James Beard Restaurant and Chef Awards ceremony taking place on June 13 at the Lyric Opera of Chicago.

Congrats to all of the California-based semifinalists!

Outstanding Restaurateur:

Greg Dulan, Dulan’s Soul Food Restaurant, Los Angeles

Willy Ng, Koi Palace, Dragon Beaux, and Palette Tea House, San Francisco

Outstanding Chef:

Reem Assil, Reem’s, Oakland and San Francisco

Niki Nakayama, n/naka, Los Angeles

Outstanding Restaurant:

Paragary’s, Sacramento

Post & Beam, Los Angeles

Emerging Chef:

Casey Felton, Bahn Oui, Los Angeles

Crystal Wahpepah, Wahpepah’s Kitchen, Oakland

David Yoshimura, Nisei, San Francisco

Best New Restaurant:

ABACÁ, San Francisco

Angry Egret Dinette, Los Angeles

Horn BBQ, Oakland

Outstanding Pastry Chef:

Margarita Manzke, République, Los Angeles

Outstanding Baker:

Joseph, Archalous and Caroline Geragosian, Old Sasoon Bakery, Pasadena

Clement Hsu, Katherine Campecino-Wong and James Wong, Breadbelly, San Francisco

Outstanding Hospitality Presented by American Airlines:

House of Prime Rib, San Francisco

Outstanding Wine Program:

The Punchdown, Oakland

Outstanding Bar Program:

Friends and Family, Oakland

Genever, Los Angeles

Best Chef: California:

Chris Barnum-Dann, Localis, Sacramento

Sylvan Mishima Brackett, Rintaro, San Francisco

Val M. Cantu, Californios, San Francisco

Keith Corbin, Alta Adams, Los Angeles

Srijith Gopinathan, Ettan, Palo Alto

Tony Ho, Sea Harbour Seafood Restaurant, Rosemead

Judept Irra, Tamales Elena y Antojitos, Bell Gardens

Brandon Jew, Mister Jiu’s, San Francisco

Matthew Kammerer, The Harbor House Inn, Elk

Bryant Ng, Cassia, Santa Monica

Heena Patel, Besharam, San Francisco

Natalia Pereira, Woodspoon, Los Angeles

Melissa Perello, Octavia, San Francisco

Minh Phan, Phenakite, Los Angeles

Justin Pichetrungsi, Anajak Thai, Los Angeles

Carlos Salgado, Taco María, Costa Mesa

Sarintip “Jazz” Singsanong, Jitlada, Los Angeles

James Syhabout, Commis, Oakland

Pim Techamuanvivit, Nari, San Francisco

Anthony Wells, Juniper and Ivy, San Diego

The full list of 2022 Restaurant and Chef Awards semifinalists can be found on the James Beard Foundation website.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.